General

Thankful for the people who support me

Normally I write a post on one of my other posts about what I’m thankful for on Thanksgiving. It’s your generic “I’m thankful I have a home, family, friends” type of post. And I’m certainly thankful for those things, especially a home with heat following Hurricane Sandy here in New Jersey.

But I got to thinking last night about the people who support me and accept me for who I am, no questions asked. Not everyone in my life does that for me and it can be a wild ride being my friend (or relative). There are some who try to tell me what to do or how I should change my life. They can be judgmental and some just don’t get me.

But there is a group who get me. They understand me in their own way. They may not understand depression and all of the issues that surround it, but they accept it. I struggle and they’re there to listen and offer a hug. If I make a mistake, they offer me a helping hand as I pick myself up. They don’t judge and tell me how I have to change my life.

And as someone who struggles with depression, it’s incredibly important to have people who support me and don’t judge in my life. I need people who just listen and show they care. And I’m lucky to have those people in my life, many of them. Some are better at it than others, but lots of my friends and family try.

It makes me incredibly thankful I can go through my struggles surrounded by love. If I didn’t have that, I’d be in a lot more trouble than I am.

About Jen

Jen is a social media producer and a local journalist at heart. When not trying to take over the journalism world she writes, takes lots of photos and roots on her beloved New York Rangers and Mets.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,801 other followers

