General

Project positive

Everyone tends to get negative about life when they fall into a depression. At least that’s what I think because it’s what happens to both my dad and me. Things go difficult for me, I get depressed, I get negative. And it’s been the course of action for a long time.

But really a positive outlook is what I need. I tell that to people all the time when they seek advice from me about being depressed. “It won’t rain forever.” It’s about time I listen to my own advice and take on the positive outlook. It’s easier when you’re getting better with your mental health.

I’ve started taking steps to make sure there is positive energy around me already. I wrote a few weeks ago about removing the negative people from my life. That process continues as I evaluate the people I have around me. When I tell people about how I’m kicking people out, my friends always tell me they’re proud of me.

But I also need to work on myself too. It’s a matter of not getting down on myself when negative things happen. I’m trying to complain less about bad things that happen because it really goes against trying to create a more positive outlook. I also try to look beyond the negative. Things might suck now, but they’re not going to suck forever. A bad day is only that. A bad day. It’s one day out of the thousands we’re going to live in our lives. I try to let go and try to not let it pull me down.

It’s not an easy thing, and I do try to remind myself to “be positive, remember the good things” when I feel myself sliding down the slope. I focus on my family, my friends and all the great things I have in my life. And I hope the positive energy I’m creating will help me further in creating a better life for myself.

About Jen

Jen is a social media producer and a local journalist at heart. When not trying to take over the journalism world she writes, takes lots of photos and roots on her beloved New York Rangers and Mets.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,801 other followers

