General

This blog is supposed to be about a book project too

When I started this blog it was after I revealed on my personal blog about my depression problems. One of the biggest reasons, though, was the book project I am planning.

But I feel like I’m still planning. And planning. And planning some more.

I figure the first step is write the chapter about my own problems, which I actually did a few months back. But I hate what I wrote. It wasn’t personal enough. It was cold and without emotion, and dealing with these issues is full of emotion. It needs a thorough rewrite.

But I also need to figure out who else. Who else do I need to interview for this book? The point is each chapter would be devoted to one person’s story of struggle and how they overcome it every day. I know a whole bunch of people I can simply ask, and there are a few others in the world of “celebrity” status I’d also like to ask. Where do I go from here?

I think I need a better road map for this project, which just means more planning. And as someone who has been in journalism for more than a decade, planning can get in the way of the good. It’s a procrastination crutch. And it’s probably one of the biggest reasons I never finish projects like this I start.

And part of the reason I started this blog was to give myself a reason to finish. If everyone knows about it, I have to finish, right? It’s the public humiliation route.

About Jen

Jen is a social media producer and a local journalist at heart. When not trying to take over the journalism world she writes, takes lots of photos and roots on her beloved New York Rangers and Mets.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,801 other followers

