General

Welcome to the depression project

A week ago I was moved to write about my depression issues on my personal blog. The response was incredible in that it was the most read post ever on my blog, but I also received plenty of support and thank yous not only on my blog but also on social media and via e-mail. I even got a few comments in person. I was touched, and I felt like I was making a difference in people’s lives by writing about my issues. I was giving them a voice, reminding them they are not alone. Some even told me they felt more brave to talk about their issues because I had. I cannot say how that makes me feel since I don’t think of myself as brave.

For a few months I have pondered writing a book about depression, and the response to my blog post proved to me I need to move forward with it. My plans are to devote a chapter to a person who is struggling with depression yet is surviving. They’re your neighbors, co-workers and others you run into every day. We live full lives despite our struggles, and I want to give a voice to those stories. And the response to my blog post made me decide I do need to move forward with the project and stop procrastinating.

I decided to start this blog in part to detail the course of this book because it will be a journey for me just as much as it’s a journey for my eventual readers. I have to confront my own issues as I take this on in addition to working with some really great people who have similar problems.

But this blog also is a place for me to voice what’s going on in my life as I struggle with depression. I’ve been on and then off and then back on medication for about a decade. I’ve never talked about these things openly because of the stigma. But I’ve been so moved I feel I need to give not only myself but others like me a voice, a place to educate and break the stigma.

If you want to be involved in my book project, I’d love to hear from you. Send me an e-mail at jenconnic (at) gmail.com. Or if you just need someone to talk with, you can send me a note too. You are not alone, and sometimes you just need to be reminded of it.

About Jen

Jen is a social media producer and a local journalist at heart. When not trying to take over the journalism world she writes, takes lots of photos and roots on her beloved New York Rangers and Mets.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,801 other followers

